The Swords Tarot Cheat Sheet

A Minor Arcana Cheat Sheet: The Swords

One of the things I love most about the Tarot is how much there is to learn. However, it can be overwhelming. That’s why I thought I’d put together some cheat sheets for the Tarot cards. Today we start with the Swords Tarot cheat sheet. 

Below you’ll find a full-sized infographic that offers you all the information on the swords you need. 

What are the Swords in Tarot? 

The swords are one of the four minor arcana Tarot suits found in a traditional deck of Tarot cards. Within the swords Tarot suit, you will find a total of 14 cards. These range from pip cards (numbered cards) to court cards (page, knight, queen and king). 

The swords rule over our mental space. They can be linked with the top three chakras covering the crown, third eye and throat chakra. Knowing this helps us to visualise whereabouts in the body this energy sits. Giving us a better idea of what types of situations and actions the cards are referring to.  

The swords are also the element of air within the Tarot cards. This means that they can perfectly represent our intellect, mental processes and communication. Something that the first three chakras also have power over. 

What do the Tarot swords mean?

Below is a very brief overview of what each of the 14 Sword cards means within the Tarot. To find out more detailed meanings, you can find all of these cards and more in my full Tarot directory.

  • Ace of Swords: Offers a fresh dose of mental energy. This could be a new idea, a new mindset or a form of communication.

  • Two of Swords: The duality of the mind. It aligns with decision-making and needing to listen to the inner voice for guidance.

  • Three of Swords: Building mental resilience and strong lines of communication. It is an energy of growth and learning.

  • Four of Swords: Reflection and introspection. The stability of the four offers a stable footing for deep self-exploration and discovery.

  • Five of Swords: The humanity of intellect. It helps remind us of the complexities of being a sentient being with access to reams of information.

  • Six of Swords: The achievement of air. Having a mental breakthrough, a eureka moment. A card of success and realisations.

  • Seven of Swords: The spiritual connection with the physical mind. Understanding and being open to divine guidance in spite of the rational mind.

  • Eight of Swords: Long-term stability within the intellectual world. Forming healthy communication, thought process and mindfulness.

  • Nine of Swords: The abundance of intellect. Often linked with anxiety and overthinking. Allowing too much air energy to have control.

  • Ten of Swords: A need for a reset. Often linked with burnout and mental distress. A need to replenish the self or find a new challenge.

  • Page of Swords: Being open and ready to absorb new ideas and ways of thinking, communicating and planning. The novice of air.

  • Knight of Swords: Passionate communication or trains of thought. Not thinking things through and acting on un-fleshed-out ideas. 

  • Queen of Swords: The nurturer of intellect. Focusing on ideas, plans, and strategies and allowing them the room and sustenance to grow.

  • King of Swords: The intellect of the mind. Pure information, ideas and communication. Often without substance.

Sword tarot cards often get a bad rep as they can often be read negatively. However, there’s a lot you can glean about the self from the sword cards. Swords represent our very essence. The thoughts we have day to day, the inner dialogue we listen to. 

Never underestimate the power of a Swords Tarot card.

The Swords Tarot Cheat Sheet: View It Here